ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Randonnée pédestre

Chapelle St-Christophe

Easy

There are several routes to reach the Chapelle St-Christophe:

Start your walk at the bus stop of La Forclaz. After a few meters on the road towards la Sage, you can take a path downhill in the middle of the forest. Then, cross the village of la Sage and its magnificent buildings to reach the hill on which the Chapelle St-Christophe (1663m) is located. This walk takes 30 minutes. 

The second route starts in Villa. At the "Borza" spot, you will take a small road that will take you through the villages of Villa and La Sage. At the foot of the hill, a path takes you directly to the Chapel of St. Christopher. The journey takes about 45 minutes. 
The first chapel, of which traces can still be seen on the outer walls, was built in the 14th century. The first restoration dates back to 1681, as you can see from the bell of the present chapel, and the last restoration dates from 1989.

From Evolène, follow the signs to La Sage. You will walk along small paths that take you from the foot of the Evolène cliffs to the top of the Val d'Hérens balconies where the villages of Villaz and La Sage are located. This easy 8 km hike will take you to the Chapelle St-Christophe in 2 hours and 50 minutes, with a positive and negative difference in altitude of 414 m.
 

Technical information

  • Distance 8.6 km
  • Positive elevation 414 m
  • Negative elevation 414 m
  • Highest point 1'662 m
  • Difficulty Easy
  • Duration 2h50min
GPX

Contact


Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.098947658174865, 7.514820098876954

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Randonnée pédestre

Chapelle St-Christophe

Facile

Description

Il existe plusieurs itinéraires pour rejoindre la Chapelle St-Christophe :

Débutez votre balade à l’arrêt de bus de la Forclaz. Après quelques mètres sur la route en direction de la Sage, vous pourrez emprunter un chemin en pente descendante au milieu de la forêt. Ensuite, traversez le village de la Sage et ses magnifiques bâtiments pour rejoindre la colline sur laquelle se situe la Chapelle St-Christophe (1663m). La durée de cette marche est de trente minutes. 

Le second itinéraire commence à Villa. Au lieudit « Borza », vous emprunterez une petite route qui vous permettra de traverser les villages de Villa et de la Sage. Arrivés au pied de la colline, un chemin vous amènera directement à la Chapelle St-Christophe. La durée du trajet est d’environ 45 minutes. 
La première chapelle, dont on voit encore les traces sur les murs extérieurs, a été construite au 14e siècle. La première remise en état remonte à 1681, comme vous pouvez le voir sur la cloche de la chapelle actuelle et la dernière restauration date de 1989.

Au départ d'Evolène, suivez les panneaux de randonnée en direction de La Sage. Vous parcourerez des petits sentiers vous amenant du pied des falaises d'Evolène en haut des balcons du Val d'Hérens où siègent les villages de Villaz et La Sage. Cette randonnée de 8 km, facile, vous emmènera à la Chapelle St-Christophe en 2h50 de marche, avec un dénivelé posifitif et négatif de 414 m.
 

Fiche technique

  • Distance 8.6 km
  • Dénivelé positif 414 m
  • Dénivelé negatif 414 m
  • Point le plus elevé 1'662 m
  • Difficulté Facile
  • Durée 2h50min
Télécharger GPX

Contact


Emplacement / Accès

Coordonnées GPS :
46.098947658174865, 7.514820098876954