ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Culture

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler

Evolène

Presentation of the project
The "Fondation atelier de Marie Métrailler" (FAMM) was created in October 2017 with the aim of acquiring and then restoring the weaving workshop that Marie Métrailler opened in her home village of Evolène in 1938 and whose activity ceased in the 1970s. By restoring this workshop, the foundation aims to promote and transmit the knowledge, know-how and traditions linked to the work of yarn in the Val d'Hérens.
 

Marie Métrailler 1901-1979
Born in Evolène, the daughter of schoolteachers, Marie Métrailler followed an atypical itinerary with a great deal of rigour and a very particular finesse of mind. Marie Métrailler is known for having founded a weaving workshop in 1938, considered to be the first form of manufacturing enterprise in the commune of Evolène. She thus revitalised weaving in the Val d'Hérens, turned it into an art form and opened a shop in the main street of the village, which still exists today. Marie Métrailler is erudite, cultured and loves to travel. She is passionate about reading, philosophy and theology. She was interested in legends and felt the telluric power of the valley. She befriended many thinkers and artists who stayed in Evolène, including the writer Marguerite Yourcenar and the playwright René Morax. By her example, she defended the status of women.


The workshop 
The reopening of the workshop is an opportunity to create, in the centre of the village, a space conducive to meetings and the sharing of knowledge in the spirit of openness and generosity of its founder Marie Métrailler. Occasional activities such as demonstrations, weaving courses or guided tours of the workshop are planned. In order to perpetuate these activities, the foundation must proceed with renovation work which will relaunch the production of fabrics in the workshop: furnishing fabrics, linens, placemats, scarves... The workshop can also be used as a shop.


Smile powder 
From 1974 onwards, the writer and journalist Marie-Magdeleine Brumagne conducted a series of interviews on Marie Métrailler, which were finally published posthumously in 1980 under the title "La poudre de sourire". This extraordinary text was a great success from the outset and was published several times in the three national languages. At the same time, the journalist made an interview film for the Association Films Plans-Fixes. The result is a 40-minute film in which Marie Métrailler talks about the condition of women at the beginning of the century, the power of priests over souls, human relations and daily work. She also evokes the supernatural which nourishes the legends of the mountain regions. This film reveals the extraordinary personality of a woman who refused submission and injustice all her life.

www.lagedhomme.com

Still shots
© 1978 Association Films Plans-Fixes
16 mm black & white film. Length 40 mn. Shot on 17.09.1978 in Evolène (VS)


Partners 
This project and the related events could not have been possible without "external" support and various collaborations. The "Fondation atelier Marie Métrailler" is very honoured to be able to count on the precious support of the following partners

 

Supporting the project 
The creation of the "Fondation atelier de Marie Métrailler" marks a day of historic importance for the heritage of the Val d'Hérens. Visitors recognise the exceptional reputation of the weaver Marie Métrailler and applaud the creation of the foundation. If you are interested in this project and if you too are committed to the restoration of Marie Métrailler's workshops, you can become a member of the association "Les amis de la fondation Marie Métrailler" or simply make a donation. 


Contact 
Marie Métrailler Workshop Foundation
c/o Denise Métrailler
Rue du Four 7
CH - 1983 Évolène
Phone: +41 79 486 27 58 or +41 79 714 02 29 or +41 79 501 09 57
E-mail : info@atelier-marie-metrailler.ch
Website : https://atelier-marie-metrailler.ch

Contact

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler



Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.113170217265875, 7.4959051609039316

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Culture

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler

Evolène

Präsentation des Projekts
Die "Fondation atelier de Marie Métrailler" (FAMM) wurde im Oktober 2017 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Weberei zu erwerben und anschließend zu restaurieren, die Marie Métrailler 1938 in ihrem Heimatdorf Evolène eröffnete und deren Tätigkeit in den 1970er Jahren eingestellt wurde. Mit der Restaurierung dieser Werkstatt will die Stiftung das Wissen, die Fähigkeiten und die Traditionen, die mit der Fadenarbeit im Val d'Hérens verbunden sind, fördern und weitergeben.
 

Marie Métrailler 1901-1979
Die in Evolène geborene Lehrerstochter Marie Métrailler verfolgt einen untypischen Lebensweg mit viel Strenge und einer ganz besonderen Finesse des Geistes. Marie Métrailler ist dafür bekannt, dass sie 1938 eine Weberei gegründet hat, die als erste Form des produzierenden Gewerbes in der Gemeinde Evolène gilt. So belebte sie die Weberei im Val d'Hérens wieder, machte daraus ein Kunsthandwerk und eröffnete ein Geschäft in der Hauptstraße des Dorfes, das noch heute existiert. Marie Métrailler ist gelehrt, kultiviert und liebt es zu reisen. Ihre Leidenschaft gilt dem Lesen, der Philosophie und der Theologie. Sie interessierte sich für Legenden und spürte die tellurische Kraft des Tals. Sie befreundete sich mit vielen Denkern und Künstlern, die in Evolène wohnten, darunter die Schriftstellerin Marguerite Yourcenar und der Dramatiker René Morax. Durch ihr Beispiel verteidigte sie den Status der Frauen.


Der Workshop 
Die Wiedereröffnung der Werkstatt ist eine Gelegenheit, im Zentrum des Dorfes einen Raum zu schaffen, der für Begegnungen und den Austausch von Wissen im Geiste der Offenheit und Großzügigkeit seiner Gründerin Marie Métrailler förderlich ist. Gelegentliche Aktivitäten wie Vorführungen, Webkurse oder Führungen durch die Werkstatt wollen realisiert werden. Um diese Aktivitäten aufrechtzuerhalten, muss die Stiftung mit Renovierungsarbeiten fortfahren, die die Produktion von Stoffen in der Werkstatt wieder in Gang bringen: Einrichtungsstoffe, Bettwäsche, Tischsets, Schals... Die Werkstatt kann auch als Laden genutzt werden.


Das Lächelpulver 
Ab 1974 führte die Schriftstellerin und Journalistin Marie-Magdeleine Brumagne eine Reihe von Interviews über Marie Métrailler, die schließlich 1980 posthum unter dem Titel "La poudre de sourire" veröffentlicht wurden. Dieser außergewöhnliche Text war von Anfang an ein großer Erfolg und wurde mehrfach in den drei Landessprachen veröffentlicht. Gleichzeitig drehte der Journalist einen Interviewfilm für die Association Films Plans-Fixes. Das Ergebnis ist ein 40-minütiger Film, in dem Marie Métrailler über den Zustand der Frauen zu Beginn des Jahrhunderts, die Macht der Priester über die Seelen, menschliche Beziehungen und die tägliche Arbeit spricht. Sie beschwört auch das Übernatürliche, das die Legenden der Bergregionen nährt. Dieser Film offenbart die außergewöhnliche Persönlichkeit einer Frau, die sich ihr ganzes Leben lang gegen Unterwerfung und Ungerechtigkeit wehrte.

www.lagedhomme.com

Standbilder
© 1978 Verband Filme Pläne-Fixes
16 mm Schwarz-Weiß-Film. Länge 40 mn. Aufgenommen am 17.09.1978 in Evolène (VS)


Partner 
Dieses Projekt und die damit verbundenen Veranstaltungen könnten ohne "externe" Hilfe und verschiedene Kooperationen nicht realisiert werden. Die " Fondation atelier Marie Métrailler " fühlt sich sehr geehrt, auf die wertvolle Unterstützung der folgenden Partner zählen zu können


Unterstützen Sie das Projekt 
Die Gründung der "Fondation atelier de Marie Métrailler" markiert einen Tag von historischer Bedeutung für das Erbe des Val d'Hérens. Die Besucher erkennen den außergewöhnlichen Ruf der Weberin Marie Métrailler und applaudieren bei der Gründung der Stiftung. Wenn Sie sich für dieses Projekt interessieren und sich ebenfalls für die Restaurierung der Werkstätten von Marie Métrailler engagieren, können Sie Mitglied des Vereins "Les amis de la fondation Marie Métrailler" werden oder einfach eine Spende tätigen. 


Kontakt 
Stiftung Marie Métrailler Workshop
c/o Denise Métrailler
Rue du Four 7
CH - 1983 Évolène
Telefon : +41 79 486 27 58 oder +41 79 714 02 29 oder +41 79 501 09 57
E-Mail: info@atelier-marie-metrailler.ch
Website : https://atelier-marie-metrailler.ch

Contact

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler

Fondation Atelier de Marie Métrailler



Location / Zugang

GPS-Koordinaten :
46.113170217265875, 7.4959051609039316